Grass Roots San Francisco Cannabis Club Reviews

San Francisco Medical Marijuana Patient Reviews

Posted November 6, 2014
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Super friendly and helpful staff. Never rushed. Genuine people who really seem to care. Megan used to be their baker and recently left to begin her own company, but Grass Roots still sells her super delicious baked goods. She has to be one of the best MJ bakers around and I would buy her baked goods whether they were medicinal or not. I would recommend Grass Roots to everyone. Don’t expect anything too fancy, ala SPARC…the place is all old wood and down home feeling, and that’s perfect for me.
Reviewed By: Peggy L
Sausalito, California

 

Posted September 9, 2014
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
A real shit hole. Very nasty and condesending day manager. The weed is mostly crap. Very judgemental here. If it was the only place in town to buy weed, I`d stop smoking. Skip this place.
Reviewed By: Eric K
San Francisco, California

 

Posted February 21, 2014
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Love them,love them,love them!all bud no BS.They have it all and a great staff!
Reviewed By: Gigi E
San Francisco, California

 

Posted April 2, 2013
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Still the best club in the City, in terms of quality meds, variety and very nice people. A wonderful place.
Reviewed By: Charles W
San Francisco, California

 

Posted February 9, 2011
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is an update on an earlier review I made concerning Grass Roots. When I said I was going to start using the Green Cross well I found out that you get what you pay for. The Green Cross’s quality of weed is nowhere near the quality of Grass Root’s weed. Also Grass Roots has the best selection and quality of hash and hash oil of all the other clubs I’ve been to in this city.
Reviewed By: Jonathan P
San Francisco, California

Posted February 2, 2011
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Have been to many clubs in SF and find Grass Roots to be the nicest and most professional. Very clean inside, and the staff is friendly and helpful whenever I visit. Really like the oversized restaurant style menus that show what’s available for the day. Wish they had a website that showed the same. Picked up some Flat Top Purple a few days back and was really impressed with the quality of the medicine. Super frosty, dense and beautiful. Some of the nicest I’ve seen. Also noticed that they lowered thier prices a bit, always a good thing. All in all, I love this place and highly recommend it.
Reviewed By: Kyle R
Mill Valley, California

 

Posted February 1, 2011
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
One of the nicest and most professional clubs in the city. Like their oversized menus describing the medicine, I wish they had something like that on their website. Was very impressed with the hash and purchased an 1/8th of Flat Top Purple. Nicest buds I have seen in a long time. Couldn’t believe how frosty they were. Very enjoyable. Probably my favorite Indica that I have had from any club. Their Blue Lightning comes in a close second. All in all a great experience and great people, I highly recommend.
Reviewed By: Sean O
Mill Valley, California

 

Posted October 12, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
The first club I went to once I got my card. The staff here are all very friendly and helpful and remember your name. How could you have a job like that and not go into work in a good mood? The quality and selection is very good with bud as well as the hash. I wish that they had a website or somewhere you could go online for a current menu. I don’t think there is any excuse not to have that. Besides that my only real complaint is there prices. Why is it I’m buying weed legitimately and legally yet I’m still paying black market prices? I recently switched over to The Green Cross. Their prices are way better and they deliver. I’ll still go in there from time to time though.
Reviewed By: Jonathan P
San Francisco, California

 

Posted August 23, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
The only problem with this club is that you can’t socialize and smoke on the premises. As a dispensary, it’s first rate!

I live close by and went in soon after they opened. Then, they had a great big plate of hash and it was exquisite. I, for a reason I don’t really understand, went elsewhere. At first I thought they were cool but that image soon vanished and I went back to Grass Roots.

The bud tenders there are very knowledgeable and friendly. They actually do care and will think of innovative and unusual ways to help spread you marijuana dollar. In the last few months they’ve really had to streamline the process. For example, when you go in now, they have computerized all the paper work. They have provided over sized menus, like at a nice restaurant.

The selection is impressive. I really don’t know how the folks there keep up with the huge inventory but they do and are interested in what they do and it shows. About 3 months ago I got 2 clones from them. They also offer seeds, hash (oh yeah) and more edibles than… well you get the idea.

If you haven’t gone here, it’s not too bad except for the parking. The best way is to do the buddie system. One person drives around the block while the other gets the herbs. Parking in the TL has always been a problem unless you want to go to the municipal parking garage on Bush St, two blocks away. It’s not that hard, and not too expensive (municipal rates).

Say hi and grow your own. Buy a clone or two or get some seeds and grow. It can be a lot of fun and it’s an expression of freedom. The shop will support you. Perhaps, I’ll give some classes on gardening, both hydroponic and soil. We’ll see.

I hope you’ve gained something from this review. Good Luck!

Reviewed By: Paul W
San Francisco, California

 

Posted July 20, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I gotta say I really love grassroots. Grassroots has the two biggest factors that I look for in a cannabis dispensary: good service, large variety. Every time I’ve been there the staff has been very friendly and helpful. I like bud tenders that (at least pretend) to care about strain genetics. There are several places in the city that act like you’re a knuckle-head if you care about strain lineage, which leads me to believe that they don’t care. Grassroots is definitely one of the collectives that seems to care. In terms of selection and variety, Grassroots can’t be beat. They also have a price range which seems to be based more on the quality of the grow than the reputation/stigma of the strain, which I really like.
Reviewed By: Nate W
San Francisco, California

 

Posted July 18, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I love the Grass Roots. I like the bar like atmosphere and being face to face with the people I’m buying my medicine from. I love the wide selection of hash, kief and edibles. Keep doing what you’re doing grassroots. Any sweatshirts yet?
Reviewed By: Alex C
San Mateo, California

 

Posted July 1, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is one of my favorite clubs. It’s always worth the hour drive every week or so to come by. They have a really good selection and the atmosphere is really nice, complimented with nice tree tenders. They are always nice and seem to hook 4g 8ths and have a good hash oil selection. I don’t know about tobacco smelling weed? Bad high-grades? Sorry, but whoever said that must be at the wrong club because this place is the bomb.
Reviewed By: Matty D
Fremont, California

 

Posted May 23, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
By far the best club in the bay area, others should set guidelines as set forth by the Grass Roots. I will see you guys again this evening to handle my medicinal needs . Thank you for being a 5 star club.

And people remember, if totally legalized, big companies like Phillip Morris, Marlboro and other companies will stray from the medicinal values of the herbs just to make a buck. Let’s stick to the Co-ops, please.

Reviewed By: Austin J
South City, California

 

Posted May 18, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Always a great experience here; friendly, cool people and wonderful product.
Reviewed By: Charlie W
San Francisco, California

 

Posted May 14, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Simply state, USA’s #1 world class dispensary!
Reviewed By: Nicklas M
Santa Rosa, California

 

Posted May 13, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I first started going to Grass Roots as a caregiver to my cousin who was rocked in an auto accident then as fate would have it I came down with cancer and obtained my own card. Every club should do it the way Grass Roots does it. As a low income cancer patient I would walk in with $10, $8, once even with $3.47 and they would still generously weight out top shelf bud to me!! None of that pre packaged dry kept in a plastic container crap but fresh bud kept in a glass jar underneath the the counter away from light. Can anyone tell me where I can go with $5 and buy fresh top shelf bud without having the staff make u feel insecure about your monetary status.

When u spend more than $50 you get discounts and honestly this should be required of every club and they sell clones, seeds, edibles and more importantlay top shelf shake. I only wished they delivered. To the Haters, dont hate appreciate Grass Roots

Reviewed By: Aaron T
San Francisco, California

 

Posted May 7, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This place rocks, 5 stars. I came quite a distance and even got some really nice freebies =) Thanks. The strains were unbelievable, price was good and honestly this place is like the” 420 Cheers”! I recommend this place to everyone and I will be back around mid month May so I can get materials for my birthday bash. Has anyone heard about a 420 friendly dating site?? Lol, I hope they have one ~Chris
Reviewed By: Christopher T
Central Valley, California

 

Posted May 6, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Attention Mo Better Cookie Lovers ….. Mo Better Cookies are now available. The cookie is now twice the size with a full gram of cannabis. As always, the Yellow Label is made with top quality OG Kush and the Blue Label with G.D.P. Thank you for your support , Mo
Reviewed By: Maureen F
San Francisco, California

 

Posted April 30, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Very well organized, no parking but the wait is quick. Great place!
Reviewed By: Jae S
Marin, California

 

Posted April 21, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
You obviously have no idea what you are talking about, as GrassRoots is the best club in the SF Bay Area. All their bud is very good, even the lower end stuff. I personally have a very high tolerance to pot, so it takes only the best stuff to medicate me at all. I tell you, this club has the best bud around and they are by far the nicest people I’ve ever met. I’ve been going to them for over a year, and have never been disappointed.

Nothing in there even remotely smells like tobacco, so I don’t know what you were on or what you were smoking yourself. Also, of course you can’t smoke there. You think the staff wants idiots like you staying in their space for more time than needed? No. Go home and smoke like you are supposed to. Now, get your head out of your rear, go back to GrassRoots, and take a look at their OG Kush. You must be blind and not able to smell if you don’t like their beautiful bud.

Reviewed By: Jay S
San Francisco, California

 

Posted April 8, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Grass Roots is one of the best in the bay area.
They always have a large selection and weigh your medicine in front of you. The door man is not a dick and the atmosphere is pleasant. However, like many bay area clubs, the accuracy of the strains sold may be completely off. The person behind the counter may tell you that a specific hybrid consists of completely wrong parents or call it a pure sativa to make the sale. So as long as you do not listen to recomendations and use your eyes and nose, Grass Roots usually has some really good medicine.
Reviewed By: Haywood J
San Francisco, California

 

Posted April 6, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
The medicine is bunk. I spent a lot of money on different medications, and all of them had no THC and smelled like tobacacco. The staff doesn’t smoke so they are ill-advised on what is good, and they have no hybrids. The staff is rude, kept trying to push the high end medications and it was all bunk. There is no place to smoke there so I won’t go back.
Reviewed By: Pat S
San Francisco, California

 

Posted March 4, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Hey, went back this morning and they replaced the moldy medicine with something clean!!
Reviewed By: Robert C
San Francisco, California

 

Posted March 3, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Hey, picked up some Silver Kush the other day. Took it to my friends birthday party last night and discovered the medicine had mold. You could taste it and I am bringing back the medicine this morning. I’m just returning it to let them know about the problem! Not asking for my money back! Just want to see what they have to say about it. It’s not safe to smoke moldy medicine!!
Reviewed By: Robert C
San Francisco, California

 

Posted January 27, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I visited this club for the first time yesterday and left with a bag of fantastic edibles. It’s a small place and the transaction was fairly matter-of-fact after I stood in a proper line – it basically feels like you’re ordering a sandwich in here.

I’m accustomed to a much warmer location which sadly went out of business during the year I spent overseas. My hunt continues for a dispensary that rivals, but in the meantime grass roots is a solid place to quickly pick up some medicine.

Reviewed By: Moey M
San Francisco, California

 

Posted January 13, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I am a 31yr old male and have been a card holder for about 3 yrs. and have been to around 20 or so clubs in the frisco area and without a doubt, Grass Roots wins the 5 tokes award. Now the only reason they did not get a 5 star was the damned area they are in. Other than that… the staff are hands down the most laid back and the most informed about the products sold at said location. These guys/gals have always been very helpful and even got me a reduced priced for buying more things while paying less and they always round down if the -10% is an oddball number. You can’t beat them now…. if they only moved to West Portal and/or hire me and then they would get a 5 star.

Since thats not happening then a damned 4 star but again, I have to say… this club… no other…. and the edibles… if you want to talk to God without dying or praying… eat a whole one (the damned things have warnings and no matter how “big a man” you think you are, you had better listen!) Lemonade, ice cream…. all is fantastic! Thanks guys for the great times and it sucks, I am leaving this year. Had some awesome times thanks to your guys!! ALOHA and MAHALO!! Pakalolo is da kine!

Reviewed By: Brandon L
San Francisco, California

 

Posted January 11, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Just visited Grass Roots for the first time, not a bad way to start the year, i found this dispensary easy to find, read about all the great reviews. I liked this club, very professional, and had a nice system. You can wait in line and check out their menu, a large choice of strains with decent prices. Cool budtenders, but can be more friendlier. I got a half 1/8 of GDP. I liked it, looked beautiful and tasted great, a lil fluffy but way better than other clubs. I also grabbed some cherry pie. Its a tasty strong indica the way I like it, I will be coming back soon again, Thanx Grass Roots for good SF Meds.
Reviewed By: Carlos G
San Francisco, California

 

Posted January 4, 2010
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Great service, great product, great people – consistently.
Reviewed By: Charlie W
San Francisco, California

 

Posted December 19, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Grass Roots is a wonderful dispensary! My co-workers and I wandered into it one rainy Sunday while on our Staff Retreat and fell in LOVE! The staff was incredibly friendly, nice, and helpful and did everything they could to ensure we chose the best medicine.

They had a diverse selection of strands at good prices and the guy at the counter helped us select from the group. They also had delicious medibles: Santa shaped chocolate lollipops and hash caramels.

Great people, great medicine, and great service! Go there and expect the highest quality in patient compassion and care!

Reviewed By: Gabrielle T
Oakland, California

 

Posted December 1, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Listen, I have been going to this wonderful dispensary since the day I obtained my prescription, not only two blocks away. They are the most kind, sincere, funny, awesome, sickest people you will meet who operate the hands down greatest damn club in the San Francisco Bay Area. I do not know what stuff you got from them, maybe the lower grade stuff they have, which is even better than stuff on the street everyone has gotten. And as someone who has been smoking pot since I was 14 (now almost 21) for recreational and medical reasons, I can say the grade of the bud they have everyday and always, is always better than anything I have gotten from any other club around. And trust me, I have many clubs I can go to that are an easy 10 minutes away, but I go to SF for Grassroots, because they know how to treat their patients better then anyone.

They have any price range to accommodate people who think they are so high and mighty. And guess what? They’ll still treat you nice as anyone else. Go back there, and look at the $50-$60 1/8 grade stuff. Nothing on there is anything less than very high grade.

The edibles. Well, usually not being affected by them, I continue to buy most of them for their taste alone, not to mention one or two actually knock me out.

So, walk ya’self back there, and give it another try with a new attitude, and you might find something very worth your while if you treat the ridiculously friendly awesome staff with basic common courtesy. Have a wonderful day!

Reviewed By: Z L
Foster City, California

 

Posted November 27, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
How can you really say one club is better than the other if they give you a discount above 50 bones like if I spend 60 bones I only have to say good bye to 54 of those bones because Grass Roots is a great family of people who really are just plain educated about the plant.

Very educated about the plant… this is a good thing.

I know they do not tumble. Honestly, alot of paitents before they donate cannabis to a club like Grass Roots, this may happen, but no tumbling happens under the Grass Roots.

I know that theses people remember your face even if you don’t want them to. Yea sucks about that guy who didn’t follow the rules and he even lives near by! It’s easy to read the sign and WTF just don’t smoke near by it’s that easy. Walk to Van Ness, get away from your godly place that just gave you your godly gift of a medication.

I go to many clubs and Grass Roots has extremely good bud for a good price and it has a discount system with the more you buy and you can buy half eigths, this is also great!

Reviewed By: Casey J
San Francisco, California

 

Posted November 24, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I was not impressed with this club, for a couple of reasons. 1. The weed i bought had a lot of seeds in it, also the weed didn’t make feel better at all. 2. the eadibles didn’t taste that great in fact they made me sick. I probly won’t go back for a long time.
Reviewed By: David L
Pacifica, California

 

Posted November 22, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I really like this place. I found it on a fluke the first day I got my medical card. They have a nice selection, usually, of high end stuff. They have a great menu of edibles too, which is the main reason I have my card, I don’t prefer to smoke. Most of the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. There are a couple staffers who have big heads, but they do their job at the end of the day. It is super easy to park at this club and as a south bay person who doesn’t know the loin that well, it seems relatively safe coming and leaving the club.
Reviewed By: Baytails R
San Jose, California

 

Posted October 18, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I used to love this club. I never had a problem with them at all. Until about 2 months ago i got a half oz of $60 bud and it was completely covered in white hair. I was completely disgusted and had to throw it away. I decided to go back last weekend and got some Af-goo. It looked good while i was there but when i got home, i noticed it had so many bare stems in the bag, and not to my surprise i find more white hair! I am done with this clinic now.

The only thing i like about this place are the staff and edibles.

Reviewed By: Ty B
San Jose, California

 

Posted October 1, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Now here’s a club. Good people, prices, edibles…a must!!! One of san francisco finest by far!!!
Reviewed By: Darrell W
Oakland, California

 

Posted September 30, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Friendly, patient and knowledgeable staff, actually compassionate prices, decent sliding scale, and downright excellent medicine.

Grass Roots was my first club and remains one of my absolute favorites. Maybe its the variety, maybe its the consistent high quality, maybe its the 10% discount, maybe its the plethora of concentrates, edibles, and pre-prepared materials, or possibly it could be the culmination of all these things.

In summation, if you’re in the city, you’d be silly not to check out this club. They’re affordable, professional and diverse enough to keep even the veterans from getting bored.

Reviewed By: Chase A
San Francisco, California

 

Posted September 25, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
WARNING: GRASS ROOTS CLINIC IS A NEIGHBORHOOD SURVEILLANCE CENTER! DENIED SERVICE!

Went to Grass Roots & was told at the door I could not come in, because a week earlier I had been seen taking a toke from my One Hitter several hundred feet from their front door. I waited a month and went back. While waiting my turn, I was asked to leave! I asked, “WHY?” when the law said no smoking within 50 feet—not 200 feet. I was told that they were surveilling everything within sight of their front door!

Having lived in the neighborhood for over 30 years and never having had a problem with any business before, much less a beloved pot club, I know that I am being discriminated against.

Grass Roots discriminates based on age (I’m 61), race (I’m white), and sexual orientation (I’m bi-sexual). My response:
NO POT CLUBS WITHIN 50-FEET OF A FIRE STATION!

Reviewed By: David W
San Francisco, California

 

Posted September 24, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
They have a pretty wide selection. I think a very well grown grand daddy should go for $150 a half oz anywhere but I know they’re not practical for business. I bought a 140 dollar half of some LA confidential x og kush… Not the best buds but very nice high. I was very pleasantly surprised at how nice the dude was behind the counter and how he hooked it up fat with a free bottle of some very potent organic chocolate cannabis milk( super yummy, and potent). Over all I was extremly pleased with this little club off post. I’ll definitely be going there again when I re-new my card next year at green relief just around the corner on sutter st.
Reviewed By: Katie H
The Valley, California

 

Posted September 13, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This place is cool. I’ve gone there many times and have yet to be dissappointed. The neighborhood is a little weird so I would reccomend going during daylight. The staff is cool and there is a large selection of medicine to choose from. Probably the best club in the city!
Reviewed By: Bart I
Smith, California

 

Posted September 6, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
My very first experience at a dispensary was at Grass Roots… I researched and selected Grass Roots for several reasons, but primarily the good reviews I had found and read.

I gave them a call, clarified what I needed, and then showed up. Parking was not hard to find and I was greeted well. I took a seat at the bar… the budtender was super friendly, insightful, and eager to answer any questions I had. I did have several, all were answered and I walked out with a huge smile, 3 strains, and some goodies. The prices were good and they give discounts. I truly enjoyed this place and look forward to going again. I highly recommend Grass Roots.

Reviewed By: Plur G
San Francisco, California

 

Posted August 24, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
The staff are all personable as well as informed on their offerings. The selection is presented on a menu. The only place I go!
Reviewed By: Johann
San Francisco, California

 

Posted August 14, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is a solid place, with kind employees. The area is a little sketchy but who really cares. The medicine is excellent, and the variety is superb! Thanks to the reviews on this site I found my club, and got the ID Card to prove it!
Reviewed By: J P
San Francisco, California

 

Posted August 9, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
The people that work here are cool and knowledgeable! The medicine, edibles, and selection are great! They’re the best in the city!
Reviewed By: K K
Mountain View, California

 

Posted August 4, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
There are wonderful people that work at this club. They are very friendly!
Reviewed By: Lynn D
Pacifica, California

 

Posted July 29, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Another of my favorite clubs in the City. I heard a lot about this place and on my first visit, the staff was very nice. They had over 20 strains each ranging in price per 1/8th.

They issue free Patient ID cards which is a plus. I bought some White Widow from here for a good price and it was really good. Loved this place and it was really nice. They weigh it in front of you and don’t skimp.

Reviewed By: Nicholas K
San Francisco, California

 

Posted July 20, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Excellent selection and fair prices. A very helpful and knowledgable staff. I recommend this dispensary highly!
Reviewed By: Doug T
Roseville, California

 

Posted July 16, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is the best place in town! I was just in town and went to 8 clubs and Grass Roots was the best one when it comes to selection and cool people. Great food and meds! On my next trip it will be my first stop.
Reviewed By: Aaron L
Fresno, California

 

Posted July 11, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Great medicine! Amazing staff, and all around my kind of dispensary! Try them, you wont be disappointed.
Reviewed By: Nadar A
Palo Alto, California

 

Posted July 2, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
From the doorman to the sellers, some of the nicest people you’d want to meet. Consistently excellent products, I have never been disapointed. These folks are friendly, funny, generous and knowledgable. I love coming here, also, always a great selection!
Reviewed By: Charlie W
San Francisco, California

 

Posted June 15, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Awesome! Great club w/ unreal selection of nugs, keif, hash and food. Only reason I didn’t give them 5 stars was for the neighborhood and prices. Will be going back! Blue Lightning rocks!
Reviewed By: P C
Marin, California

 

Posted June 9, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Has a great selection and are very reasonable priced. Very nice staff (they even deal with my mom who lives above them making noise)..lol..and are still cool with me, long but true story n e ways very nice club all in all!!!!
Reviewed By: Dimitri C
South San Francisco, California

 

Posted June 3, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I’ve been to a lot of clubs in northern California and this by far is my favorite. They always have OG Kush every day always fire and on top of dank bud. The people are very friendy and helpful. Reccomend this club to any who are in the city, go check it out.
Reviewed By: Billy T
San Francisco, California

 

Posted May 25, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This was my first club I ever walked into. The atmosphere is incredibly friendly and the people working are so helpful. They have amazing edibles.
Reviewed By: Nick M
San Francisco, California

 

Posted May 15, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I have been searching around frisco and oakland for the best club i could find and since i got my recomendation, i have been going to different clubs every week until i hit this one and came back after continued searching and i was convinced this was pepsi instead of coke, my burger king instead of micky d’s, my oakland raiders instead of 49ers : ) you get the picture, i love this place, best prices hands down.
Reviewed By: Mark T
San Jose, California

 

Posted May 12, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Great club!!! One of the best I’ve been to. Went to almost all of the clubs in the city and this is by far the best ever. They have over 30 strains all of which is great quality. They have about 10 strains for all $50 an 8th which include Northern Lights x Skunk, AF-Pak, and Super Skunk for $55 which I just got today. They also had White Widow, OG Kush, Strawberry Cough, and many more. They give you discounts and on my first time, dude gave me a free sample of a edible. Great club. I live in SF and i love going here. Huge place and bar like Amsterdam style dispensary.
Reviewed By: Nicholas K
San Francisco, California

 

Posted May 7, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Another of my favorite clubs in the City. I heard a lot about this place and on my first visit, the staff was very nice. They had over 20 strains each ranging from as low as 40, to as high as $60 an 8th. From 11am-7pm, they issue free Patient ID cards which is a plus. Bought some White Widow from here for $50 an 8th and it was really good. Loved this place and it was really nice. They scale in front of you and dont skimp.
Reviewed By: N K
San Francisco, California

 

Posted April 14, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Lack of costumer service. They only think about the profit from us. The clone’s I bought are really sick. You guys suck. I will not recommend this one. Stay away.
Reviewed By: Max O
San Francisco, California

 

Posted April 10, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is by far the greatest place; nice, friendly, and courteous. I went in for some GDP, great quality and look good enough to eat. I highly rank this place.
Reviewed By: Jon F
San Francisco, California

 

Posted March 30, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Grassroots rules! Everytime I go there, just like everyone has been saying, you get a hook up on edibles or price if you give em cool vibes, specially for those big orders, heres a recent example of how cool these guys are! I went to tahoe for new years, stocked up, left some hash there, came back a week later, they recognized us and hooked it up with a new dose of hash! These guys rock! Stop by show some love and always tip these guys, they’re in it for the love not the money!
Reviewed By: Mike G
San Jose, California

 

Posted March 14, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I would highly recommend this club to anyone. The staff is both knowledgeable and friendly. The selection of cannibis is top-notch and easily inspected in glass jars. The product is not pre-bagged like some places. I like how they hand pick and bag your selection. A kind of farmers market if you will. You sit at a bar on a stool while they show you what’s available. They have some of the most amazing strains I have ever seen.
Reviewed By: Paul K
San Rafael, California

 

Posted March 9, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
In my opinion, Grass Roots, truly is one of the best dispensaries in San Francisco. They have around 45 different strains all ranging from $30-$60; along with 20 kinds of hash, about 10 types of keif.

They have a huge selection of edibles also, all very good. You get 10% off your order once you spend $50.00 or more. So buy an eighth for $50 get it for $45, it’s a beautiful thing.

Also keep in mind the staff won’t take any crap. I’ve heard them cussing at customers before saying they just f***ing showed them that. They could have been homies but I would’t know.

Their bud’s aren’t out on display, just the buds but you ask to see one and they’ll bust out a large jar. Sometimes they get pissy if your asking to see a lot of buds. Also have magnifying glass/light to peep your medicine.

Overall definitely stop by here and pick something up, you won’t regret it.

Reviewed By: JJ B
Salinas, California

 

Posted March 5, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Their med’s are great and the hash is the best price and quality in town. I’ve been going here for over 3 years, Very compassionate friendly staff who are into giving back to the community, like the food and toy drive last Christmas.
Reviewed By: Eric E
San Francisco, California

 

Posted February 10, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Really nice people. If I could divide the clubs in to how attentive and smart and funny the people here would win first prize blah blah. Yes they have really high quality stuff (most of the time)95%. I’m a picky person if you want to get medication and don’t want to give away your wallet doing so like at most clubs go to Grass Roots. If you see something that is high in price don’t doubt it, only doubt other clubs’s high priced things.
Reviewed By: Keaton R
Bay Area, California

 

Posted February 6, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Grass Roots is pretty decent nice selection of buds from as low as $35 $40 $45 $55 and their highs $60 an 8th so yeah you can get 1/2 an an oz but you get ripped off if you try to get a high grade oz might as well head to the east bay if you want quanity and quality but other than that Grass Roots is decent club. Try the extra potent edibles they well sit you down all day.
Reviewed By: Kevin M
Gonzales, California

 

Posted January 19, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This has become my new favorite place to shop. I’ve been to about 15 clubs or so and these guys keep a good selection the $60 1/8s are worth the money and they don’t hesitate to tell you when you can get a better strain for a lower price. They keep good edibles and the hashes, ear wax, thc pills, are all top of the line. They even carry vegan organic strains from time to time. This is a very nice place you have to visit them.
Reviewed By: Brian W
Vallejo, California

 

Posted January 17, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Know what you like. Some 40+ kinds of bud. Ask to see many in your price range. The budtenders have a decent grip on what’s good. However it can pay off to ignore them, go with what you like. After the closing of CMC, Grassroots is the best source for edibles in the immediate area. Always stocked with a vast array of hash, kief, and oils.The earwax my personal favorite. If you catch them on a bad day, oh well, its a business. 9 times out of 10 you will walk away satisfied. Always watch them weigh, and have a nice day.
Reviewed By: Nik S
Half Moon Bay, California

 

Posted January 7, 2009
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This dispensary has been the easiest for me to access with the 38 Geary bus. That atmosphere is the best I’ve seen–almost an old saloon feel to the wooden bar–with a talented and knowledgeable staff, positive and friendly.

The product quality is first rate; I’ve tried several types of bud, Trainwreck, Blue Lightening, Alan Wrench, Grand Daddy Purple, and Super Silver Haze, and was pleased with all of them except the Alan Wrench, which should not have been $60 an eighth. They have a wide selection, and so far its all looked really good, though I have yet to try some of their less expensive medicine.

I was also pleased with the hash I got, “L.A. Confidential.” It burned evenly, and without melting or dripping, until there was nothing left on the head of the pin but sweet, white ash.

Maybe my tolerance is high right now or something, but the lollipops touted as “strong” didn’t affect me much. However, they have the yummiest edible ever, and its fairly potent–a chocolate peanut butter cup. Also, they carry Yak Fudge and the Yak Greenie Cookie (very strong edibles). If you have high tolerance and need a strong edible, try these.

Overall, from service to product to variety, I have found the only club I need for now.

Reviewed By: PJ C
San Francisco, California

 

Posted December 9, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I too had bought a .5 oz that was light, but when I went back (3 days later) and told an employee what happened, she made things right without a problem and without making me feel uncomfortable. It was more than I expected, thats fer sure.

Kudos to Grass Roots !

I’ll definitely be back.

Reviewed By: Greg W
San Francisco, California

 

Posted December 3, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Spent $600 USD on clones of poor quality and poor genetics. I know what I’m taking about as my profession is a fruit breeder.

Got a bite sized brownie for dropping $600 on clones that either died, or grew very poorly.

Basiclly got ripped off. Would not recommend this place, staff was not knowledgeable and could say very little about the varrieties they were selling. “Uhhhgghh…..indica. Yeah, yeah. Uhhhhggghh…..sativa, yeah. That’s about all I got out of them.

Reviewed By: Mason M
Santa Cruz, California

 

Posted November 28, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is one of the best clubs in my hometown of San Francisco. I always enjoy returning for good meds and people. They also give great discounts! 10% off for over $50.00 in products. Enspiring and encouraging. The salespeople are very nice and helpful. They have changed their image inside and it is nice. They also have cannibis ice cream! Their hash brownies are delicious and can last 4 days.

Praying that they stay around and they will as long as they are in compliance with laws, which they will be!

Good luck and god bless cannabis clubs. They are cheaper and more physically healthier than doctor prescribed medications which have synthetics in them.

Reviewed By: Lady A
San Jose, California

 

Posted November 28, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I have been to Grassroots several times over the past year and every time, I leave with a huge smile on my face. My main reason for stopping by Grassroots was clones–of which they have some very good varieties–but of course you can’t leave without checking out some of their goodies. The setup is like a bar, and they have 3-6 “budtenders” working behind it. The menu is clearly displayed on the wall–they have many different choices with various types and prices of green goodness. They also have an excellent selection of keif and hashish (which I love), and the budtender always steers me in the right direction depending on what I have to spend.

I went yesterday and purchased some “GOO” keif –It’s out of this world–for $25 a gram. The “AFGOO” is also very heady–make sure you’re done with chores b4 toking this! He also recommended the “Nightshade” bubble hash, which is some of the cleanest hash I’ve seen, and it does the job like a champ. They also give a discount when you spend $50 (and you will) and they sometimes throw in an edible or two if you’re super cool (and I am!). They do have a tip jar for the budtenders, and if you plan to frequent the place often, I’d recommend tipping. If they see you’re a repeat customer, they’ll hook it up.

My clone experience at Grassroots began 8 months ago when I purchased a strain called “Mazar”. Very nice outcome…Recently I acquired a Purple Kush clone and went back for more cuz it was so nice.–also got a Sensi Star (stoked). My budtender was so helpful and knowledgeable about the strains. We looked up all my choices in the many “Books of Buds” they have available and he told me he may have some Grandaddy Purps in the back…When he came back, my three clones were so beautiful and green–perfect quality! I will go to this joint again and again…5 stars, and then some!

PS: Try the Quad dose MED420 Bar–also the Oatmeal Cake is massive and tasty!

Reviewed By: Lanie S
Pleasant Hill, California

 

Posted November 6, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I have been a medical marijuana user for the past 6 months, and I spent my first two months hunting through SF for my perfect club. Grass Roots is it. Every time I walk in I feel like I’m stepping back into my childhood home. Warm aromas and laughter encircling the little 5 year old inside me and giving me warm fuzzies.

Everyone behind the counter is super nice, and I never get the holier than thou ‘haha I work at a club’ vibe from any of them. They also give a 10% discount on all purchases over $50, not to mention the fact that they have some of the best medicine I’ve ever smoked. (Try the Blue Lightening, oh my god).

Anyways, This is a really great club with really good people. Everyone inside is always ready to have a conversation, whether it be about how medicated such and such medicine got them the night before, or about the crazy people that hang out outside, it’s all good.

Reviewed By: Dan M
San Francisco, California

 

Posted October 30, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Only reason it’s not 5 stars is that you can’t blaze in the club, but that is probably a good thing as you can drive home safer that way and they will probably be around longer. I only picked up clones, which were great, and a very knowlegable staff laid out some of the basics for the genetics I was purchasing. The atmosphere was really cool too. Lots of nice looking hash. Definitely will stop by again.
Reviewed By: Matt S
San Jose, California

 

Posted October 29, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Grass Roots is easily my favorite club in the city, I have been frequenting it for a year now and I would like to share why I feel so strongly about GR:

I’ve been to most of the popular clubs in the city, and just as many as I can visit, but GR keeps me coming back religiously– even though I’ve moved and now live on the opposite side of the city from it– because they are an overall well-organized business.

They sell in any dollar amount, but all the prices are listed in terms of eights.
For those looking to find something cheap and low-grade for joints or baking or for a stony hookah (I suggest trying that if you haven’t already), Grassroots usually has something for about $20 an eigth that isn’t immaculate, but definitely gets the job done. Sometimes there’s even something for $30 or $35 an eigth. There’s usually a list of 5 – 8 $40 eigths that won’t dissapoint if you’re in a money pinch. I recommend Pino Noir, hybrid. There’s usually 7 – 13 in the $50 an eigth range, 10 – 20 in the $55 range, and 1 or 2 for $60 an eigth.

The reason I love GR besides the flexible menu is the service. The staff is always extremely friendly, patient, helpful, and knowledgeable. If you join the co-op (for free) you get $5 off eigths $50 and up, and I think there’s some percentage off they apply to larger orders. Point is they’re really great about hooking you up money-wise or medicine-wise (your call). You usually get a free edible of the budtender’s choice with orders over $60. I don’t know the exact number, it’s a guess.

I don’t suggest buying clones from there if you want good selection, it’s wicked competitive. As far as value, service, and quality go, I’ll go across town and back like 9 out of 10 times. I personally suggest you take the Pepsi challenge with GR’s medicine and what you’d get at other ritzy clubs with high prices and fancy glass jars. Not to say those places aren’t good, I’m just saying that I find Grassroots to be grossly under-appreciated and you check it out for yourself.

Reviewed By: Ramsey D
San Francisco, California

 

Posted October 21, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I’ve only been a patient for a short time but this club rocks! The staff knows what they are talking about. Selection and prices were awesome. You’d kick yourself for missing a chance to visit Grass Roots .
Reviewed By: CC D
Marin City, California

 

Posted October 14, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This was my third or fourth trip to Grass Roots, and unfortunately not a good one although I still give them a 5 star rating. I made the trip from Chico arriving at Grass Roots at about noon and they were already sold out of all clones except one sensi star. If you are traveling in from out of town for clones this is the best place by far… just get there early, like 10am when the open early to have a chance to get any clones. The staff there advised me that they get fresh clones daily but sell out everyday in morning or early afternoon.
Reviewed By: Chris L
Chico, California

 

Posted October 7, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This dispensary was decent, reminded of Los Angeles quality meds (dry). Their pineapple was disappointing, but they have good edibles. There hash was better than average but there G.D.P. was poor. Why does everyone call it G.D.P. whenever there is a hint of purple in the bud? I should have made a trip to the East Bay and gone to another club but I didn’t have the time.
Reviewed By: Paul T
Hayward, California

 

Posted October 1, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I had good experiences, than recently a young woman shorted me on weight and when I noticed I went and told them; it was like hohum, I won’t go back.
Reviewed By: Laura G
San Francisco, California

 

Posted September 8, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is by far the best club I’ve ever been to. Excellent variety, wonderful, spontaneous, and friendly staff. Great environment. Highly recommended! You guys rock!
Reviewed By: Mellon M
San Francisco, California

 

Posted August 18, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This was my first experience with a cannabis dispensary. I was impressed they had over 30 different strains to choose from in all price ranges all the way down to $35 1/8ths. They also had the most killer hash I’ve ever had….pineapple and G.D.P. I also got Jackpot, Flat top purple, bubba kush, G.D.P., and Romulan x Diesel. They also had kief, edibles and 6 or 7 strains of clones for only $12 ea Killer place, highly recommended!
Reviewed By: Christopher L
Chico, California

 

Posted August 5, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This place is my new home. I’ve been to many clubs in the bay area and this one by far wins over the rest. I love how this dispensary has a warm rustic feeling right when you walk through the door. The staff is great, very friendly and actually know what they’re talking about. In all my years of being a patient I’ve never seen prices this low.. Where else can you buy an 1/8th of top shelf, such as the blue lightning and flat top purple for uunder $60..Tax included.. I can’t say enough good things about grass roots..every card holder should check these guys out…oh yay they even sell clones for all you with a green thumb.
Reviewed By: Cindy P
San Francisco, California

 

Posted August 4, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Couldn’t believe the prices! Got the jackpot on thier recomendation and it was just what I needed. Great spot thanks for the help, and the free edible!
Reviewed By: Marco S
San Francisco, California

 

Posted July 31, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is a great club. Ive been to many clubs around the city and San Mateo county, and this has to be one of the best. There selection is one of the best Ive seen and the prices for the quality is very resonable. They have meds for all different prices and with 10% off after 50$ you cant go wrong! Its a must go!
Reviewed By: Spencer G
Millbrae, California

 

Posted July 23, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Just as equal to the divinity tree. They have a good variety of buds (10 to 15) with the high grade ranging from $55 to $40. They had hash and edibles but I was interested in the clones. $25 bucks for purple kush. Cant go wrong there. They even weigh the buds in front of you. Def plus.
Reviewed By: Blue Dream
San Jose, California

 

Posted July 22, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Clone selection and quality is very good. The clones are a good size, very healthy and run for 12$. Wonderful edible selection. Lots of good hash with a wide selection and price range (excellent 20-35$ range). Have oils from 30-50$ and have great hash pills. Usually carry about 20-30 strains of bud. Mostly 40-50$ 1/8ths. Have a few 55-60$ 1/8ths mostly. Very fair prices all around. If you spend more than 50$, you automatically receive a 10% discount. Helpful, friendly staff. Only down is you cannot smoke in the facility.
Reviewed By: Jonny B
San Jose, California

 

Posted July 21, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
The location is great. Only a couple blocks from my place. They have a wide variety of cannabis to choose from.Blue Lightning being the best ATM. As well as LOTS of edibles. I just consumed a chocolate caramel just 5 minutes ago. Freaking delicious. They also have lots of hash which is usually crafted into some kind of fun shape from jabba da hut to stonehenge. You can buy $35 eights all the way up to $54 eights. They have a nice large building. Their staff is really friendly. There is a girl who works there who always has nice blue eyes and color in her hair and a nice koi fish tat on her shoulder. She is reason enough not to go anywhere else.
Reviewed By: Luke P
San Francisco, California

 

Posted July 18, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Really nice people from doorman to sellers. Safe, secure place with lots of selection.
Reviewed By: C B
San Francisco, California

 

Posted July 11, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Grass Roots has been a favorite for a long time. They have a big selection well displayed behind on the wall behind the counter broken down by price and lots of hash in the case.

They also have clones from awesome strains, usually displayed with the cannabible reference page for info. Their clone prices are better than any other place I’ve been to and always look great.

The medicine is also great too and when you get the best stuff its a little less money than my other favorite in the area, The Divinity Tree. The selection is a little bit less but so are the prices. They too will tell you what their favorites at the moment are. Check them out.

Reviewed By: Mr. G
San Francisco, California

 

Posted June 30, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Seemed nice, I went for the clones which looked great and they had variety, but when I pulled out my credit card which I normally use at the clubs here at home they wouldn’t take it. That’s not a problem except that they were rude and incompassionate about it; one of the employee’s explained to his co-worker, “He wants weed but he doesn’t have any money.” I felt humiliated and drove the long trip home empty handed 🙁
Reviewed By: Ed L
Santa Cruz, California

 

Posted June 27, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This place is excellent. They have some of the best medicine for decent prices. I got an eighth of Ingrid which was some of the best stuff i have ever had for $50. I highly reccomend it. The staff was really helpful in helping me find the best strain to suit my needs. I didnt get a chance to look at their mid or low grades but all the high grade stuff is so good its hard to pass up. Most of there medicine is top of the line and they also have all kinds of hash and edibles too.
Reviewed By: Nico G
Orinda, California

 

Posted June 5, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I echo the sentiment of many patients here. The staff is knowledgable and very friendly. They usually throw in a nice treat…. and the prices are good as well.

The storefront is a little funky but it is all about customer service. Strong recommendation!

Reviewed By: Bokiluis C
San Francisco, California

 

Posted June 2, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
By far the best shop in the city. Killer edibles great selection of medications with 10% off at $50. Try the gingerbread it will blow your mind!
Reviewed By: Chris J
South San Francisco, California

 

Posted May 27, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I stopped by this place yesterday for the first time ever. I went on a cannabis club run and this was the second stop (after CannaMed Care). Staff was really cool. The place is pretty big compared to other places, but I don’t think there’s on-site medicating. Anyway, I saw a sign for their special of the day, and it was an ounce of a strain called Jambalaya for $225. I looked at it, and it was just ok. Definitely something you’d pay like $35 an 8th for (actually, they were selling 8ths of it for $40). They had a few price categories: $35/8th, $40/8th, $50/8th. I just stuck to the $40/8th category because money is scarce right now.

I looked at Morning Star, it doesn’t look the same from what I remember a few years ago. I also looked at Mendo Purple, but it looked like it was the bottom of the bag. I got an 8th of Pinot Noir for $40. She weighed it out in front of me, which I thought was cool. Smells nice, but it could’ve been trimmed better. I like the prices here, not too bad. I’ll stop by here some time again soon.

Reviewed By: Marc B
Martinez, California

 

Posted May 5, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Simply the best cannabis club in the entire bay area.

Best prices, Best medicine, Best staff, comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in-store, easy parking, lots of edibles and alternate meds, AWESOME hash selection as well as keif.

Clones are top grade especially the purps. Many different strains are available. I would say 30 different strains at all times. 5/5 highly recommended!

Reviewed By: Derk B
Fremont, California

 

Posted May 1, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is my favorite dispensary so far. Staff is courteous and helpful, though some know more about the products than others. It’s $60 for their top eights, but they’re always outrageous. The cheaper buds look great too, but I’ve never been able to pass up their top quality buds. Grams of buds aren’t listed on the menu, but they sell them. There is a huge selection of everything. I can’t seem to walk out without a little bit of everything, and I’ve loved it all so far. They have two mirror-trays full of hash from $10-45/gram. You probably never want the $10 stuff, but I’ve always been happy spending $35. Tons of edibles and some oils too. I’d like to try their pills sometime…

Sounds OK… but they take %10 off when you spend over $50!! And—so far, every employee helping me has thrown in a little something extra at the end. Usually a small edible, but it’s an awesome surprise. Of course these prices and sales may change, so don’t take my word for it; go there! It’s a descent establishment.

Reviewed By: John A
San Jose, California

 

Posted March 27, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Great spot! Great herb. Great hash. Among the affordable spots in Frisco. Friendly people. They made me feel comfortable, and helped me pick out medicine that would best treat my condition. Don’t think you can smoke here put it’s relaxed inside.
Reviewed By: Edog S
Nor Cal, California

 

Posted March 7, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Great selection, good product, people know what they are selling, friendly, clean store, relaxed atmoshpere.
Reviewed By: John F
San Francisco, California

 

Posted February 15, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Best Club in Frisco! These guys always have top shelf medicine at the lowest prices in town. Staff was great and very knowledgable. Very relaxing environment, best edibles out of any co-op i been to. 5 OUT OF 5
Reviewed By: Derk A
San Jose, California

 

Posted January 28, 2008
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
If I could rate Grass Roots higher than 5 stars, then I would.

This medical marijuana dispensary has a fantastic selection. Great staff. Very professional with out being snobish. Helpful. Comfortable. There are so many adjectives to describe this coop.

I walk 45 minutes out of my way, passing multiple dispensaries just to visit Grass Roots. Bravo!

Reviewed By: Nick V
San Francisco, California

 

Posted December 26, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is a club that sets a good example of what a medical marijuana dispensary should be like. One of the best in San Francisco.

First, security is alert and stringent, while at the same time friendly & polite. If there is a long line you can have a seat and read one of the High Times, or Cannabis Culture magazines, as well as Popular Mechanics, Time, and many more. I especially like the picture of Neil Young on the wall.

When you are called up to the counter, there is an exellent variety of herbal meds, about 30 types, each properly stored in glass jars. Also a nice selection of edibles. The staff is always ready to answer any questions with proper answers. I found the staff there to have superior knowlege of the meds as well as being friendly. They really made me feel like I was a VIP. Also, if a patient is a little strapped for med money, they will accommidate by dispensing $5.00 worth of meds so even a poor patient wont have to leave “empty-handed.” The medicine strain/price list is clearly posted on the wall behind the counter, so there is no guessing, & oh did I mention, the Grass Roots Clinic has the most forgiving prices of any club? I am especially glad for that.

I recommend Grass Roots to all my card-carrying friends. I live in Stockton, which is a 1 hour and 45 min. drive, away. I gotta say, it is worth the drive. Grass Roots Clinic is a mandatory stop for me whenever I go to the city and I have been to a lot of clubs in the bay area.

Grass Roots Clinic is one of the city’s best.

Reviewed By: Jim B
Stockton, California

 

Posted November 28, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is the first and only club I’ve visited so far, but I’m impressed with the selection and the helpful, friendly staff. Unless and until something changes, why go anywhere else?
Reviewed By: Bert R
San Francisco, California

 

Posted October 27, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This is an all out good cannabis club. Good people, decent selections, and most of the stuff is organic too. But it’s the hash and edibles that make this a good dispensary. The great prices help too. It is a well-run and maintained dispensary.
Reviewed By: Zmac F
Walnut Creek, California

 

Posted October 22, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I recently gave Grass Roots an average rating. I am now giving 5 stars.

They have some very good quality products and a fair price. Also friendly service.

Reviewed By: Victor L
Sonoma, California

 

Posted October 18, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
My first time at this cannabis club. My feeling is that it is okay. They have some good products but not any better than anywhere else I have been too.

The service was also okay. Except for one of the persons was in a funk. I hate going shopping and feeling like I should be extra nice, because someone doesn’t like their job.

Reviewed By: Victor L
Sonoma, California

 

Posted October 8, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I got turned away from another club on Geary because I just had the paper recommendaion. They suggested Grass Roots, around the corner.

I was impressed with selection and quality. I visit now several times a week and they always have something new and tasty.

They even started giving me member prices, even though I never signed up for anything. Staff is excellent, herb selection is great, prices are on the money, edibles are tasty, and hash is killa.

Reviewed By: N M
San Francisco, California

 

Posted September 13, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I have tried all the cannabis clubs in Sacramento and believe me, they all suck! So I went up to the City and tried a club, but got turned away because I did not have a medi can card. So I went to the Grass Roots. I have never had any bad bud from here. I have only encountered one kind of mean guy, otherwise, everyone has been a pleasure…. Highly recomended.
Reviewed By: Linda B
Granite Bay, California

 

Posted August 12, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I’ve been to Grass Roots 3-4 times. Staff was helpful and recommended GOOD skama.

My experience with most clubs is their need to push top shelf buds that may not always be what you asked for. Instead, staff offered me a good choice. They usually don’t have anything over 6-8 different strains but I have yet to be let down. I’ll take quality over quantity anyday.

Purchased some “Salmon Creek”… was probably some of the nicest smoke I’ve had in a while. Solid club.

Reviewed By: Nathan O
Los Angeles, California

 

Posted July 21, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I was impressed with this medical cannabis dispensary. The interior was nice. They have many strains to choose from. The prices were fair at $45 an eighth. Clones were available too – N Lights, OG Kush, and more. Overall, the Grass Roots is a terrific cannabis club.
Reviewed By: Dan K
San Francisco, California

 

Posted June 18, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Friendly knowledgeable staff dispensing a wide variety of excellent quality buds. Also have a nice selection of edibles and hashish.

Well educated staff and a good variety of buds make a trip to Post Street worthwhile. The store is clean and well lighted, with a glass display counter housing cannabis in large mason jars.

I was particularly impressed with the Jack Herer strains and the Afghani x Trainwreck buds. both were well cured and in fine condition. The prices are good too. One of the nicer clubs in San Francisco.

Reviewed By: Aquill I
Marin, California

 

Posted June 7, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I have to give this place the worst Rating. I find it sad to see sick patients getting ripped on their medicines from this place. I purchased some hash. I got one on the low and one high end …Both tasted the same..NASTY….It didn’t even taste like hash……I got a nice headache…..50 bucks wasted to a so called medical grade club!
Reviewed By: John B
Fremont, California

 

Posted March 29, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
My experience at Grass Roots has always been the best!. The workers are very friendly and informed, and their selections are tops. The organic sativa’s are my favorites, and the prices are the lowest i’ve seen at the various clubs. Parking on Post Street is not a problem.

The smokables are not dry and crumbly, and they always have the medicated crackers, perfect for those who watch their sugar intake 🙂 Its a must!

Reviewed By: Dave A
San Francisco, California

 

Posted February 8, 2007
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This medical marijuana dispensary has a good selection, a very friendly staff, pretty good medicines, and best of all, this cannabis club has clones!!
Reviewed By: Joe B
San Francisco, California

 

Posted December 14, 2006
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
After reading all of the positive reviews for Grass Roots on this web site I decided to pay them a visit. They did have a rather large selection of marijuana to choose from but that did not matter to me because the majority of the bud smelled like stale low grade and had the look to match. I managed to identify three different strains out of the many they showed me that at least smelled and looked like some high grade and I bought one half eighth of each. The lavender I bought was a smooth smoke but not that great
Reviewed By: Thomas D
Oakland, California

 

Posted December 14, 2006
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I’m upping my rating to 5 stars. Excellent selection. Add excellent personalized service and GrassRoots is definitely a club you’ll be coming back to. I sure have!
Reviewed By: Andi M
Pacifica, California

 

Posted November 24, 2006
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
This club is great. I just moved down here from Grass Valley and to my surprise this club was way better priced and had some great medicine. I will definitely be returning.
Reviewed By: Shannon T
San Francisco, California

 

Posted October 28, 2006
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
I’ve been to a lot of clubs (Oaksterdam and SF) and to be honest I have to say that “Grass Roots” keeps me commuting AND paying bridge toll because it’s worth it. Hands down best grades I’ve seen, knowledgeable staff and they have the selection in plain view freshly sealed and weigh your purchase right there…do you like small or big buds etc. that kind of attention to detail and customer service is a model that all dispensaries should follow…The staff is friendly and mellow – another thing that a lot of clubs should follow suit, I swear a lot of the times other clubs are so damn uptight, they make me feel like we’re doing something Illegal!
Reviewed By: Puffers S
Pittsburg, California

 

Posted October 13, 2006
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
Honestly, the only thing that gets this club from getting 5 stars is that it’s selection isn’t immense…..but it’s still damn hefty.

GrassRoots is, IMO, after touring every club in town, the friendliest and most open shop there is. Although it’s not located in the best part of town, the shop itself is VERY clean, and relaxing to be in.

The cannabis is excellent. These guys know their stuff, too. If you walk in with 40 bucks and a bunch of conditions- they’ll probably have a recommendation. EVERY time, these guys have been dead on when describing the effects of the cannabis. (Way beyond the basic sativa vs. indica differences). And guess what? They WON’T break your wallet. This is the shop with the largest amount of selection (as far as grass goes) paired with the cheapest prices that I’ve found. The high end of their menu is 50- the middle range is about 35-40 for an extra large common portion.

There are a few edibles, and a very noteworthy selection of hash/oil etc.

For cleanliness, knowledge base, quality of bud, honesty regarding quality of bud, and price, this club is my number 1 pick for the city!!!! Viva GrassRoots!

Reviewed By: Andi M
Pacifica, California

 

Posted July 15, 2006
ReviewReviewReviewReviewReview
After testing a few out I end up going to Grass Roots because of few things:

Workers treatment: they are helpful friendly and make you feel welcome.

Grade: they have a wide range of types and grades and they don’t charge too much from $20-$45 a 8th.They also have brownies and other foods.

Setup: Gated, they check card then let in and the place is big room clean quiet and has a good feel to the place. Cant go wrong with here.

Reviewed By: Mary A
San Francisco, California

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *